• All Community
    • All Community
    • Forums
    • Ideas
    • Blogs
Advanced

Not what you are looking for? Ask the experts!

Kudos0

Cancel Back-up

After running back-up I found that I had much to much to back-up and since most of it hasalready been backed on USB sticks, I wanted to cancel it, but every time I turn Norton on I get a notice gtelling me that it needs to be fixed. How do i stop this message as I don't want to use the back-up.

Thanks

Replies

Kudos0

Re: Cancel Back-up

After running back-up I found that I had much to much to back-up and since most of it hasalready been backed on USB sticks, I wanted to cancel it, but every time I turn Norton on I get a notice gtelling me that it needs to be fixed. How do i stop this message as I don't want to use the back-up.

Thanks

Kudos0

Re: Cancel Back-up

 I have just renewed my subscription and updated to Version 6 and I have the same problem but only on one of my computers (The first computer I installed it on ) and I also can't find out how to cancel it  I have had to disable backup until I solve it, then I will be able to do a manual backup to my external  HDrive when ever I wish

Kudos0

Re: Cancel Back-up

Hi

   How you had backed up your files, using Norton360 or Norton Online backup software?

   From which application you are getting the alert?

If it is Norton Online Backup software that you're mentioning: follow the instructions in here to stop it from automatically running in the startup.

If you're mentioning about the backup feature in Norton360 you can disable it if you want to run it manually: in settings remove the check mark next to Backup.

Kudos0

Re: Cancel Back-up

I am referring to the Backup that is part of Norton 360 I know you can disable the backup altogether but I want backup to be able when I want to make a manual backup to my external drive or even create a Automatic scheduled backup without having to re-enable the backup function first, This is the way it works on my laptop which I installed N360 after I installed it on my desk top computer .The main problem is it shows a large red section on the screen advising me to fix the problem and keep asking me to backup on line which as I have stated I dont  have enough up/load gigs to continually doing this

In a nut shell all I want to do is cancel the online component of it not the Backup completely

Kudos0

Re: Cancel Back-up

click on setting and then click on Administrative settings

Check for an option called Product State monitoring  half way down the list Click on Configure to the right

Under Miscellaneous un tick Backup box and click on ok then close

This worked for me

This thread is closed from further comment. Please visit the forum to start a new thread.