• All Community
    • All Community
    • Forums
    • Ideas
    • Blogs
Advanced

Not what you are looking for? Ask the experts!

Kudos0

Changing computers - online BKUP connection from old computer no longer needed

I had a nice laptop (lets call it LT1) which had 2 internal hard drives (C and D.)   I used N360 to backup files from both drives to online storage. Unfortunately the C drive of LT1 failed and I got another laptop (lets call it LT2) but it only has one drive (C.)

I had very good local copies of my data which I made outside of N360 so I didn't need to access any online backups to restore files and get back up and running on LT2.  However, some data which was on the LT1 D drive is now on LT2's C drive.

Working from LT2, I patiently deleted ALL the online backup data from LT1 and created a new online backup set for LT2 with just the C drive data I want.  After a few days of operation in the background everything looks good.  LT2's C drive data is all there.in online storage.  Great job and kudos to N360 and online backup!

I got a repalcement C drive for LT`1 and reloaded the system and intend to use LT1 for a different purpose.  I also used my final N360 licence to put N360 on LT1, so both LT1 and LT2 have the same licence key.

Lo and behold, the newly backed up data from LT2s C drive now shows up as available to be restored on LT1, even though the new install of LT1 N360 never had any online backup set defined.

I really don't want LT1 to see LT2's online backup set.  Is there any way to arrange that?  I don't want to try and delete anything from LT1 because I am afraid it might actually delete good data from LT2.   Can I just tell LT1 to ingnore online storage as a valid backup location? Or can I somehow "hide" the existence of the online backup files in the windows explorer view?

Both LT1 and LT2 are running WIN7 and N360 6.2.1.5

Thanks to anyone who can help and I hope I was clear about what I want to do.

Replies

Kudos0

Re: Changing computers - online BKUP connection from old computer no longer needed

I had a nice laptop (lets call it LT1) which had 2 internal hard drives (C and D.)   I used N360 to backup files from both drives to online storage. Unfortunately the C drive of LT1 failed and I got another laptop (lets call it LT2) but it only has one drive (C.)

I had very good local copies of my data which I made outside of N360 so I didn't need to access any online backups to restore files and get back up and running on LT2.  However, some data which was on the LT1 D drive is now on LT2's C drive.

Working from LT2, I patiently deleted ALL the online backup data from LT1 and created a new online backup set for LT2 with just the C drive data I want.  After a few days of operation in the background everything looks good.  LT2's C drive data is all there.in online storage.  Great job and kudos to N360 and online backup!

I got a repalcement C drive for LT`1 and reloaded the system and intend to use LT1 for a different purpose.  I also used my final N360 licence to put N360 on LT1, so both LT1 and LT2 have the same licence key.

Lo and behold, the newly backed up data from LT2s C drive now shows up as available to be restored on LT1, even though the new install of LT1 N360 never had any online backup set defined.

I really don't want LT1 to see LT2's online backup set.  Is there any way to arrange that?  I don't want to try and delete anything from LT1 because I am afraid it might actually delete good data from LT2.   Can I just tell LT1 to ingnore online storage as a valid backup location? Or can I somehow "hide" the existence of the online backup files in the windows explorer view?

Both LT1 and LT2 are running WIN7 and N360 6.2.1.5

Thanks to anyone who can help and I hope I was clear about what I want to do.

Kudos0

Re: Changing computers - online BKUP connection from old computer no longer needed

Hello ehousto

Since its sharing the same product key both installs will see the available sets. It's a matter of convenience if you want to restore files between the two separate installs. If you don't intend to backup from the one machine you could turn off online backup on the one. That'd leave the other to utilize the online backup function.

Kudos0

Re: Changing computers - online BKUP connection from old computer no longer needed

Thanks for the reply.  I set the N360 Backup settings on LT1 so that it only has has one backup set (default) and that is not Online storage.  So the problem is not that LT1 and LT2 are backing up to the same place.

The problem is that LT1 still sees Online Storage and the backup set from LT2 in the Norton Backup Drive system folder view even though it's not "defined" on LT1.

It may be that what I want is not possible with the current set of product features, but I had to ask.

I want LT1 to ignore the existence of Online Storage completely. 

I was able to find a Backup setting labeled "Norton Backup Drive" and set that to "off."  That removed the "Norton Backup Drive System Folder" from the Windows Explorer Computer view and that is probably the way I will have to leave it.   Ideally there would be a separate setting for each backup target location (or set) within the Norton Backup Drive System Folder.

Kudos0

Re: Changing computers - online BKUP connection from old computer no longer needed

you go to Settings from the main Norton 360 screen you can turn off Backup entirely for the one machine. Otherwise they'll still keep seeing each other. Although they share the same online storage the location of each set is unique. They won't be able to write into the exact same folder.

This thread is closed from further comment. Please visit the forum to start a new thread.