• All Community
    • All Community
    • Forums
    • Ideas
    • Blogs
Advanced

Not what you are looking for? Ask the experts!

Kudos0

Norton online backup - accidental removal of computer

hI, 

well firstly I've had problems with my laptop and had to restore it to factory settings, which is why I used norton backup,

however on restarting my system norton backup recognised my device as a completely different device and wouldn't allow me to restore old files onto it, I therefor tried to remove the newly recognised computer but accidentally removed my old computer and the backed up files, is there any way to get this back? 

have been disappointed with this product thus far, any help would be very appreciated 

Replies

Kudos0

Re: Norton online backup - accidental removal of computer

mananaged to restore the majority of my files using some system recovery software, thought it wasnt easy and very time consuming at least i have my files back, thank god i chose a non destructive system recovery 

in future i think a simple are you sure prompt before removing devices would be a good basic improvement

Kudos0

Re: Norton online backup - accidental removal of computer

That's something we'll send to our development team to add. We can get the old set re-attached if you still need it.

When you install on a new machine it will always create a new endpoint since its a different computer. Once the new Computer is setup you can then direct the restore from the old one to the new one. It won't re-attach to the old set to avoid mixing up data from the old and new computer. You would then have an entirely new problem otherwise. How to restore is also outlined in the help documentation available from all the pages of the product. 

This thread is closed from further comment. Please visit the forum to start a new thread.