• All Community
    • All Community
    • Forums
    • Ideas
    • Blogs
Advanced

Not what you are looking for? Ask the experts!

Kudos0

Norton Online Backup complaint

I have an old computer – purchased in 2006.  I had been having problems with it and knew it would not last much longer.  Anxious to not lose any of my files, I purchased Norton Online Backup and downloaded it onto the old pc.  My data and files were backed up faithfully every day and I was secure in the knowledge that if my pc failed, I would not lose any of the numerous pictures, files, and documents stored there.  Last week, the inevitable happened.  My old pc crashed.  It would not boot up and had only a black screen.  Because of its age, I decided to purchase a new pc.  Once I had the new pc set up, I immediately downloaded the Norton Online Backup software.  I started a file restore and everything was fine.  Later, I decided to remove the old pc, since it was no longer usable.  What I was not aware of was that the restore did not finish.  There was an error and it stopped. 


I tried to add the old pc back to the list, but I do not know the name of that pc.  I was not asked to provide one (as I was this time) and I assume the computer added a name.  I called yesterday to see if someone at Norton could provide the old name to me, so I could locate and download my data.  I was told that not only could they not provide the name, but I had permanently deleted ALL my data.  I could not believe it.  When I said “remove old computer” how does that translate to delete all of the stored files?  It makes no sense and I asked the young man that was “helping” me to close my account immediately.


I realize that the problem is 99% my fault.  But I am writing to you to say that the software is also at fault.  I am sure I am not the only person in the world that did this stupid thing.  In order to prevent someone else from going through the agony of losing pictures that cannot ever be replaced, the software needs a modification.  If someone clicks on “remove computer”, a pop-up should appear informing the user that if they do that before they have confirmed a successful download of all their files, they will lose everything.


I am not requesting a refund of the money I paid for the service, because I was at fault.  But rest assured I will never, knowingly, purchase another Norton product.  The loss was just too great.  Thank you for your attention.

Replies

Kudos0

Re: Norton Online Backup complaint

I have an old computer – purchased in 2006.  I had been having problems with it and knew it would not last much longer.  Anxious to not lose any of my files, I purchased Norton Online Backup and downloaded it onto the old pc.  My data and files were backed up faithfully every day and I was secure in the knowledge that if my pc failed, I would not lose any of the numerous pictures, files, and documents stored there.  Last week, the inevitable happened.  My old pc crashed.  It would not boot up and had only a black screen.  Because of its age, I decided to purchase a new pc.  Once I had the new pc set up, I immediately downloaded the Norton Online Backup software.  I started a file restore and everything was fine.  Later, I decided to remove the old pc, since it was no longer usable.  What I was not aware of was that the restore did not finish.  There was an error and it stopped. 


I tried to add the old pc back to the list, but I do not know the name of that pc.  I was not asked to provide one (as I was this time) and I assume the computer added a name.  I called yesterday to see if someone at Norton could provide the old name to me, so I could locate and download my data.  I was told that not only could they not provide the name, but I had permanently deleted ALL my data.  I could not believe it.  When I said “remove old computer” how does that translate to delete all of the stored files?  It makes no sense and I asked the young man that was “helping” me to close my account immediately.


I realize that the problem is 99% my fault.  But I am writing to you to say that the software is also at fault.  I am sure I am not the only person in the world that did this stupid thing.  In order to prevent someone else from going through the agony of losing pictures that cannot ever be replaced, the software needs a modification.  If someone clicks on “remove computer”, a pop-up should appear informing the user that if they do that before they have confirmed a successful download of all their files, they will lose everything.


I am not requesting a refund of the money I paid for the service, because I was at fault.  But rest assured I will never, knowingly, purchase another Norton product.  The loss was just too great.  Thank you for your attention.

Accepted Solution
Kudos1 Stats

Re: Norton Online Backup complaint

Hi bgrizzle1,

Your data is still recoverable. The data is retained for a number of weeks after a user removes a computer so that, in the event they removed the computer on accident, a support agent can recover it for you. Feel free to contact either myself or Wes Welty and we will assist you in restoring the files you had backed up.

Kudos0

Re: Norton Online Backup complaint

Hi bgrizzle1,

I've taken a look at your account and it appears you have two sets actively connected. I don't see any other sets which were removed. Based on this you should have full access to your data. Please advise if otherwise or if you need any assistance with the restore itself.

This thread is closed from further comment. Please visit the forum to start a new thread.